

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR THE UNIFICATION OF PRIVATE LAW INSTITUT INTERNATIONAL POUR L'UNIFICATION DU DROIT PRIVE

EN

DIPLOMATIC CONFERENCE FOR THE ADOPTION OF THE DRAFT PROTOCOL TO THE CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL INTERESTS IN MOBILE EQUIPMENT ON MATTERS SPECIFIC TO MINING, AGRICULTURE AND CONSTRUCTION EQUIPMENT

Pretoria, 11 to 22 November 2019

UNIDROIT 2019
DCME-MAC - Doc. 37
Original: French
21 November 2010

REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE TO THE CONFERENCE

(presented by the Chairperson of the Credentials Committee)

- 1. At its second meeting, held on 11 November 2019, the Conference established a Credentials Committee and postponed the decision as its composition to allow for consultations. At its second meeting in the afternoon of the same day, the delegations of Australia, France, Brazil, Côte d'Ivoire, Japan and Spain being invited to nominate members of this Committee. The Department of International Relations and Cooperation of South Africa was nominated as special adviser to the Committee.
- 2. On 11 November 2019, the first meeting of the Credentials Committee was held, with the Committee being composed as follows

Mr Gavin MCCOSKER (Australia)
Mr Bruno CARVALHO ARRUDA (Brazil)

Mr Koffi Rodrigue N'GUESSAN (Côte d'Ivoire)

Mr Hirotsugu ISHIKAWA (Japan) Ms Teresa RODRIGUEZ DE LAS HERAS BALLELL (Spain)

Ms Keke MOTSEPE (South Africa)
Mr Luvuyo NDIMENI (South Africa)

- 3. The delegate of Côte d'Ivoire, Koffi Rodrigue N'GUESSAN, was elected Chairman of the Committee.
- 4. The Credentials Committee met four times: on 11, 15, 18 and 21 November 2019.
- 5. At the third meeting of the Conference, held on 12 November 2019, the Chairperson of the Credentials Committee presented a preliminary report, informing the Conference that as of 5.30 p.m. on 11 November 2019, 39 States, one Regional Economic Integration Organisation, two intergovernmental Organisations, three international non-governmental Organisations and one technical adviser had registered for the Conference. Credentials in due and proper form had been

submitted by 22 States, one Regional Economic Integration Organisation, one intergovernmental Organisation and three international non-governmental organisations. Five States had at that time submitted Full Powers.

- 6. The Committee recommended to the Conference that, in conformity with Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure, all delegations registered be permitted to participate in the Conference pending receipt of their credentials in due and proper form; the Conference accepted this recommendation. The Committee nevertheless urged those delegations not having submitted credentials to do so as soon as possible
- 7. During the fourth meeting of the Conference, held on 15 November 2019, the Chairperson of the Credentials Committee presented a second preliminary report indicating that, following its second meeting held on the same day, two new States and one intergovernmental organisation had registered for the Conference since its last meeting. He added that, in addition to the credentials that had then been declared as having already been received in due form, eleven other States, two other intergovernmental organisations and a technical adviser had submitted credentials in due form. Two other States had submitted full powers.
- 8. At the fifth meeting of the Conference, held on 20 November 2019, the President of the Conference noted that other delegations may wish to present credentials and full powers before the signing of the Final Act of the Conference on 22 November 2019; in order to ensure that as many States as possible could sign the Final Act and the Protocol for those States having full powers, the President proposed and the Conference endorsed her recommendation that the credentials and full powers of other delegations could be verified until 9 a.m. on 22 November 2019.
- 9. The Credentials Committee held its fourth meeting on 21 November 2019. At that meeting, the Committee stated that a total of 41 States, one Regional Economic Integration Organisation, three intergovernmental organisations, four international non-governmental organisations and one technical adviser had registered for the Conference. The Committee declared that the credentials of the delegations of the following 34 States were received in due form:

Argentine Republic, the Australia Benin, the Republic of Brazil, the Federative Republic of Canada Chile, the Republic of China, the People's Republic of Congo, the Republic of the Côte d'Ivoire, the Republic of Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Finland, the Republic of French Republic, the Gambia, the Republic of the Germany, the Federal Republic of Ghana, the Republic of Hellenic Republic, the Holy See **Treland**

Italy, the Republic of Japan Mexico (the United Mexican States) Namibia, the Republic of Paraguay, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Republic of Korea, the South Africa, the Republic of Spain, the Kingdom of Sri Lanka, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Syrian Arab Republic, the Turkey, the Republic of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, the Uruguay, the Eastern Republic of Uzbekistan

- 10. The credentials of the delegation of one regional economic integration Organisation, the European Union, were found to be in due and proper form.
- 11. The following seven States participated as observers:

Cameroon Russian Federation

Egypt Switzerland

Indonesia United Arab Emirates

Pakistan

12. In addition, the following three intergovernmental organisations were represented by observers who had submitted credentials in due and proper form:

Intergovernmental Organisation for International Carriage by Rail (OTIF)

World Bank Group

World Customs Organization (WCO)

13. The following four international non-governmental organisations and the technical adviser were represented by observers who had submitted credentials in due and proper form:

Aviation Working Group (AWG)

MAC Working Group

Rail Working Group (RWG)

Kozolchyk National Law Center (NatLaw)

Aviareto, Registrar of the International Registry under the Aircraft Protocol

14. The Credentials Committee noted that, as at 21 November 2019, the delegations of the following nine States had deposited their full powers to sign the instrument to be adopted by the Conference:

Benin Republic of Congo

Côte d'Ivoire Spain Gambia Turkey

Namibia United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Paraguay

15. These Full Powers were found to be in due and proper form.