

DIPLOMATIC CONFERENCE TO ADOPT A MOBILE EQUIPMENT CONVENTION AND AN AIRCRAFT PROTOCOL

(Cape Town, 29 October to 16 November 2001)

REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

(Presented by the Chairman of the Credentials Committee)

1.	At its First Meeting held on 29 October 2001, the Conference established a Credentials
Committee and t	the Delegations of Costa Rica, Ghana, Oman, Singapore and Spain were invited to nominate
members for this	s Committee.

2.

3. On 29 October 2001, the First Meeting of the Credentials Committee was held; the Committee was composed as follows:

Ms. Mildred Bogantes Pereira (Costa Rica)
Mrs. Joyce Thompson (Ghana)
Mr. Ali Al-Zuwaidi (Oman)
Mr. Leong Wing Tuck (Singapore)
Mr. Juan Ignacio Madrid Alonso (Spain)

On a proposal made by Costa Rica and seconded by Oman, the Delegate of Ghana, Mrs. Joyce Thompson, was unanimously elected Chairman of the Committee.

1. At the Third Meeting of the Plenary of the Conference, the Chairman of the Credentials Committee presented a preliminary report and informed the Conference that as of 1700 hours on 29 October 2001, 56 States and 6 international organizations had registered for the Conference. Credentials in due and proper form had been submitted by 31 States and 2 international organizations. Full powers had been submitted by 12 States.

2.

3. The Committee recommended to the Conference, in conformity with Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure, that all the delegations registered be permitted to participate in the Conference pending receipt of their credentials in due and proper form; the Conference accepted this recommendation.

4.

5. The Committee held its final meeting on 14 November 2001 and examined the credentials received up to that date.

6.

7. 5.1 The credentials of the following delegations of 56 States were found to be in due and proper form:

Angola Jamaica
Argentina Japan
Australia Jordan
Bahrain Kenya
Belgium Lebanon
Benin Lesotho

Botswana Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Brazil Malawi
Burundi Mexico
Cameroon Netherlands
Canada Nigeria
Chile Oman

China Republic of Korea Congo Russian Federation

Costa Rica Singapore
Côte d'Ivoire South Africa
Cuba Spain
Czech Republic Sudan
Ethiopia Sweden
Finland Switzerland
France Thailand
Germany Tonga

Germany Tonga
Ghana Turkey
Greece Uganda

India United Arab Emirates Iran United Kingdom

Ireland United Republic of Tanzania

Italy United States

5.2 The Committee noted that the credentials of three other delegations were not submitted in the original, but only as facsimiles. The Committee considered that Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Conference required that credentials be submitted in the original, as this was explicitly stated in the Joint Secretariat's invitation and reiterated during the deliberations of the Conference. Accordingly, the Committee would recommend that only credentials made available in original and in due and proper form by 1100 hours on Friday, 16 November 2001, be accepted.

5.3 Furthermore, the following 11 observer delegations presented credentials in due and proper form:

African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC)

Aviation Working Group (AWG)

European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation (EUROCONTROL)

European Community

Hague Conference on Private International Law

Intergovernmental Organization for International Carriage by Rail (OTIF)

International Air Transport Association (IATA)
International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)

Rail Working Group (RWG) Space Working Group (SWG)

United Nations

-3 – DCME Doc No.72

6. The Credentials Committee took note that as of 14 November 2001, delegations of 25 States had deposited their full powers to sign the Convention and the Protocol:

Bahrain Kenya Burundi Lebanon Chile Nigeria China Singapore South Africa Congo Côte d'Ivoire Sudan Switzerland Cuba Ethiopia Tonga Ghana Turkey

Greece United Arab Emirates
Italy United Kingdom

Jamaica United Republic of Tanzania

Jordan

These full powers were found to be in due and proper form.

- END -